Company Announcements

Company Secretary Change

Source: RNS
RNS Number : 4055J
04 December 2018

press release



4 December 2018


BP company secretary change



The BP plc Board announces that Ben Mathews is to be BP's new company secretary. David Jackson, the current company secretary, will retire at the end of 2018.


Mr Mathews will take up his post in the Spring. For the interim and with effect from 1 January 2019, Jens Bertelsen, currently deputy secretary, will serve as company secretary. The Board expects to formally appoint Mr Mathews ahead of the company's AGM in May.


Mr Mathews is currently the Group Company Secretary of HSBC Holdings plc, a post that he has held for nearly six years.  He was previously the Group Company Secretary of Rio Tinto and, prior to that, of BG Group plc.


Helge Lund, who will chair the BP Board from 1 Jan 2019, said:


"Ben has a strong track record as a company secretary, shares our values and is a great advocate of corporate governance. He has extensive experience in our industry and in global business, having worked with Rio Tinto and BG. I and all the Board look forward to working with him.


"We would all like to thank David Jackson for his many services to the BP Board since his appointment in 2003."



Further information:


BP press office, London: +44 (0)20 7496 4076,



This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit