Company Announcements

BHP Board Update

Source: RNS
RNS Number : 1036M
BHP Group Limited
19 May 2022


Release Time



19 May 2022



BHP Board Update

BHP announced today that Malcolm Broomhead and John Mogford will retire as non-executive directors at the conclusion of the 2022 BHP Group Limited Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Mr Broomhead has been a Director of BHP since March 2010 and in 2021 the Board requested Mr Broomhead seek re-election at the 2021 AGM for a further year while the Group considered key strategic corporate transactions including unification of the corporate group and the merger of the Petroleum business with Woodside. At the time, Mr Broomhead informed the Board that he would remain on the Board until the 2022 AGM.

Mr Mogford has been a Director of BHP since October 2017 and is an oil and gas expert. Mr Mogford has confirmed his decision to retire following the completion of the divestment of BHP's oil and gas assets through the merger with Woodside.

Mr Mogford will step down from the role of Chair of the Sustainability Committee in June and Gary Goldberg will be appointed Chair of the Sustainability Committee. Mr Goldberg has more than 35 years' global experience in the mining industry and has been the Senior Independent Director of BHP since December 2020.

BHP Chair, Mr MacKenzie said "I would like to thank Malcolm and John for their outstanding contribution to the Board and to value creation for BHP shareholders. Both Malcolm and John have showed great commitment to our ongoing success and in particular over the last 12 months where they contributed significantly as the Group successfully navigated major strategic changes including the investment in Jansen (BHP's greenfield potash project), the unification of the corporate group and the merger of the Petroleum business with Woodside. We wish them both all the best for the future. We continue to apply a robust approach to Board renewal and to focus on succession planning in 2022. As part of this process, we are delighted to have appointed Catherine Tanna and Michelle Hinchliffe to our Board earlier this year. The Board will continue to regularly assess its current skills and expected requirements for the future."



Authorised for lodgement by:

Stefanie Wilkinson

Group Company Secretary








Media Relations



Investor Relations





Australia and Asia


Gabrielle Notley

Tel: +61 3 9609 3830  Mobile: +61 411 071 715


Europe, Middle East and Africa


Neil Burrows

Tel: +44 20 7802 7484  Mobile: +44 7786 661 683




Renata Fernandez

Mobile: +56 9 8229 5357

Australia and Asia


Dinesh Bishop

Mobile: +61 407 033 909


Europe, Middle East and Africa


James Bell

Tel: +44 2078 027 144 Mobile: +44 7961 636 432



Sabrina Goulart

Mobile: +1 832 781 6698

BHP Group Limited ABN 49 004 028 077


Registered in Australia

Registered Office: Level 18, 171 Collins Street

Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia

Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015

BHP Group is headquartered in Australia

Follow us on social media


This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit

RNS may use your IP address to confirm compliance with the terms and conditions, to analyse how you engage with the information contained in this communication, and to share such analysis on an anonymised basis with others as part of our commercial services. For further information about how RNS and the London Stock Exchange use the personal data you provide us, please see our Privacy Policy.